this site stands a rural one room schoolhouse built in 1890.
Named for the Davidson family it served the white children of the rural
community around Rural Hill and northwestern Mecklenburg County.
Many of the children walked
to the school or rode in wagons; an early means of carpooling.
The schoolhouse was later moved just 30 yards to the south to its present
location to make room for a newer and larger, two-room schoolhouse, built in
new schoolhouse served as an educational facility for all grades until 1923.
As school systems were created and became more centralized, white children
were relocated to a much larger school, Long Creek School (still active),
which is located on Beatties Ford Road approximately 1 mile south of
Hopewell Presbyterian Church.
African American children began attending the 1911 Davidson Schoolhouse
until they too were relocated to Long Creek School.
The 1911 Schoolhouse was eventually torn down, and in 2003 an educational pavilion was constructed in
the same size and scale of the original schoolhouse. This outdoor pavilion
serves as a picnic area and interpretive classroom for the Rural Hill staff. The building
was made possible through a grant from The Knight Foundation and the
Charlotte Mecklenburg Landmarks Commission in cooperation with Historic
1890 Davidson Schoolhouse, having served as a tenant farmer house and later
storage for hay, was restored in the early 1990’s by the
Charlotte-Mecklenburg Landmarks Commission to its original appearance both
exterior and interior.
Rural Hill, Inc. now works jointly with the CMLH to
preserve and maintain this historic structure.
Today, visitors can step inside the old school and feel as if
they have gone back in time to the days of the School Marm. A reconstructed
outhouse (non-usable) located behind the schoolhouse adds to the
interpretation of the site as well.
American One Room Schoolhouse
Rural Hill, Inc. Staff At Rural Hill offers group tours of our program, School Days.